Federal and State Healthcare Compliance Requirements

Sarah Jones
Medical doctor with tablet and checklist to meet healthcare compliance requirements

The healthcare industry demands the highest standards of safety, privacy, and ethical conduct. To ensure organizations meet these standards, federal healthcare compliance requirements have been put in place. These regulations and laws help maintain patient confidentiality, ensure quality care, and prevent fraud and abuse within the healthcare industry. 

Let’s look at some of the key federal healthcare compliance requirements, state-specific variations, and accreditation standards healthcare organizations must adhere to.

What Are Federal Healthcare Compliance Requirements?

Federal healthcare compliance requirements encompass a set of regulations and laws established by various government agencies to ensure certain standards for the healthcare industry at the national level. These requirements are designed to protect patient rights, privacy, and safety, as well as to prevent fraud, abuse, and other improper practices within healthcare organizations. 

Compliance Governing Agencies

There are a number of federal agencies and governing bodies responsible for passing down healthcare compliance requirements to healthcare organizations, providers, and practicing professionals. These federal compliance governing agencies regulate the industry at the national level:

  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). CMS plays a crucial role in overseeing federal healthcare programs, including Medicare and Medicaid. They establish regulations that impact reimbursement, quality of care and patient safety for healthcare providers participating in these programs.
  • Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). OSHA focuses on the safety and health of workers, including those within the healthcare sector. Healthcare facilities must adhere to OSHA guidelines to ensure a safe environment for both employees and patients.
  • Office for Civil Rights (OCR). OCR enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, which protects patients’ health information privacy rights. Healthcare organizations are required to safeguard patient data and provide individuals with their rights regarding their health information.
  • Office of Inspector General (OIG). The OIG oversees federal healthcare programs to prevent fraud, waste, and abuse. Healthcare organizations must implement compliance programs to detect and prevent unethical or illegal activities.
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). HRSA focuses on improving access to healthcare services, particularly for underserved populations. Compliance with HRSA guidelines is essential for organizations that receive federal funding to provide healthcare services.

Use this guide to create the compliance reports CMS, OSHA, OCR, and OIG surveyors want to see.

Key Healthcare Regulations and Laws

When it comes to compliance standards and regulations themselves, healthcare providers and organizations must comply with the following:

  • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). HIPAA sets the standard for protecting sensitive patient data. It requires healthcare providers to maintain the privacy and security of patient health information.
  • Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act (EMTALA). EMTALA mandates that healthcare facilities provide emergency medical treatment to patients regardless of their ability to pay. It prevents “patient dumping” and ensures proper care in emergency situations.
  • Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH). HITECH expands on HIPAA by addressing the electronic transmission of health information. It promotes the adoption of electronic health records (EHRs) while maintaining privacy and security standards.
  • Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA). CLIA establishes quality standards for all laboratory testing to ensure accurate and reliable results. Compliance with CLIA is crucial for laboratories to operate legally.
  • Anti-Kickback Statute (AKS): The AKS prohibits offering, paying, soliciting, or receiving anything of value in exchange for patient referrals. It aims to prevent financial incentives from influencing medical decisions.
  • Stark Law: Also known as the Physician Self-Referral Law, Stark Law prohibits physicians from referring patients for certain designated health services to entities with which they have a financial relationship.

What Are State Healthcare Compliance Requirements?

State healthcare compliance requirements refer to regulations, laws, and standards that individual states impose on healthcare organizations operating within their jurisdiction. While federal regulations provide a baseline for healthcare practices, states have the authority to tailor certain aspects of healthcare delivery to their needs and priorities. 

These state-level requirements often address licensing and credentialing of healthcare professionals, reporting obligations for specific diseases or conditions, medical record retention periods, and other aspects of healthcare administration. 

For example, states may have their own laws governing the scope of practice for various healthcare professionals, such as nurse practitioners or physician assistants. These laws outline the procedures and responsibilities that these professionals can undertake without direct physician oversight. State-specific reporting requirements can also extend to disease outbreaks or public health emergencies, to ensure that healthcare facilities promptly report certain conditions to the appropriate state agencies.

Additionally, some states, like California, have enacted specific laws related to patient data breach notifications that go beyond the federal regulations outlined in HIPAA. These laws mandate that healthcare organizations notify patients and relevant authorities in the event of a data breach that compromises patients’ personal or medical information. States may also have unique regulations related to informed consent, end-of-life care, and telemedicine practices.

What Are Accreditation Compliance Requirements?

Accreditation from reputable organizations signifies that healthcare facilities meet certain quality and safety standards. Some notable accreditation bodies include:

  • The Joint Commission (TJC). TJC evaluates and accredits healthcare organizations based on their performance in areas such as patient care, patient safety, and healthcare management.
  • Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC). AAAHC focuses on accrediting ambulatory healthcare organizations, including outpatient surgical centers and clinics.
  • Urgent Care Association (UCA): UCA provides accreditation specifically for urgent care centers, to ensure they meet recognized standards for patient care and safety.

Meet Healthcare Compliance Requirements With MedTrainer

MedTrainer seamlessly consolidates your organization’s policies, incident reports, safety plans, HR documents, contracts, and more. This centralized repository ensures all employees have easy access to essential information. Our software automates tracking of revisions, acknowledgments and approvals, and our dynamic real-time reporting feature allows you to tailor the included information to your needs. Schedule automated email reports for regular updates or swift reviews, further streamlining operational efficiency.

Our extensive library is curated to align with regulatory and accreditation requirements, and we regularly add new and updated courses to ensure the most current trainings. Plus, the convenience of automatic course assignment, reminder emails and instant reporting guarantees that you’re perpetually prepared for surveys and evaluations. 


See how MedTrainer can streamline your compliance.